Lost lives by Lisa Cutts – Blog Tour

Copy and paste this line to the bottom of your review post before adding it to the link-up:
This is my Review of the Month for the review collection on LovelyAudiobooks.info

Thank you to Becky McCarthy at Simon and Schuster for including me on this blog tour and for a copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased and honest review.  A huge thank you to Lisa Cutts who has been extremely interactive on Twitter with the readers and for writing such a fantastic book.

download (2)

Synopsis 

For fans of Line of Duty and Luther
‘A shocking and all-too-believable thriller . . . Lisa Cutts knows
exactly what she’s talking about. More importantly, she
knows exactly how to tell a cracking story’ MARK BILLINGHAM

When Anna arrives in the UK, she believes it’s the start of a better life for her and her
daughter. But what awaits her is more shocking than anything she could have ever imagined.
DI Harry Powell is investigating a shooting, but the victim has been scared into silence. As
Harry struggles to piece together what little information he has, he stumbles upon an
operation that may put countless lives across the country at risk.
As Anna’s situation grows more dangerous by the day, Harry is forced to push his
overstretched team to the limits to find answers. But for one of them, will it already be too
late?

Review

All the stars to Lost Lives!!

Although written in third person we see the story from two points of view.  DI Harry Powell and his task force and Anna, an illegal immigrant.  Neither character has all the pieces to complete the jigsaw of what is happening but seeing it happen from both perspectives gives the reader a full view.

I took the journey through the book completely immersed in both characters.  I felt the magnitude of stress and frustration experienced by the police officers involved in the investigation.  Low budgets, low staffing, red tape and very cleverly hidden masterminds makes it near impossible for them.  Through Anna’s eyes I saw so much pain and suffering, but a woman with determination and strength that even she didn’t realise existed in herself.

I finished this book two days ago and I can’t shake it off at all.  It left me angry, frustrated, and deeply saddened but in awe of our police force.  I was hooked by page 5 and by page 65 I was broken and never recovered.  Lisa is an active Detective Constable and although this book is a work of fiction, it has the atmosphere of something far too sinister and depraved to be completely fictional.

It’s a crime thriller but so horrifically real. It’s uncomfortable reading and not for the faint hearted but highly addictive.

I have a strong feeling that this will appear in my favourites of 2019.

Highly recommended!!

About the Author

lisa cutts (c) rob cole photography

Lisa Cutts is the author of four police procedural novels, based on her twenty-one years of policing experience. She works as a detective constable for Kent Police and has spent over ten years in the Serious Crime Directorate dealing mostly with murders and other serious investigations. She has been on BBC Radio 4’s Open Book with Mariella Frostrup, part of First Fictions festival at West Dean college, Chichester, on the inaugural panel at Brighton’s Dark and Stormy festival, on ITV’s This Morning and at the Chiswick Book Festival. Her debut novel, Never Forget, won the 2014 Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award for best thriller.

 

Follow the other fantastic bloggers on this tour

LostLivesBlogTour.jpg

Advertisements

16 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s