The Crowns of Croswald by D. E Night

A huge thank you to D. E. Night, Stories Untold Press and Netgalley for a copy of this novel in exchange for an unbiased review. Also, apologies for taking a while to write and post my review.

Synopsis

This is a page-turning fantasy in the tradition of fairy tales, whimsical worlds, and coming-of-age stories.

The Crowns of Croswald invites young readers to explore themes of stepping into their own magic, discovering their true selves, and battling evil head-on. Hailed by Kirkus Reviews as “an action-packed treat […] with a relatable heroine facing challenges in a vivid world of magic and mystery,” and called a new classic by readers, The Crowns of Croswald series is a magical romp through a fully formed universe with dragons, magical quills, potions, and mythical creatures.

Ivy Lovely is 16 and she has no idea who she is—or what her powers could be. When she crosses a magical boundary, she discovers a whole new world of enchantment and mystery. Making friends that will last a lifetime—and save her life—she steps into her own abilities and discovers more about her hidden past, magical blood, and the power of Croswald’s mystical stones. But all is not well: a dark history and an evil Queen threatens all that is good. Will Ivy’s bravery and wit be enough?

Curious and whimsical, both shy and brave, Ivy is a hero that connects with readers of all ages. For those who wished that Narnia, Harry Potter, and Alice in Wonderland could go on forever, Croswald opens a whole new world of magic. Recommended as a read-aloud for families and a first middle-grade fantasy read, The Crowns of Croswald is a four-part series that will carry readers to a whimsical world that they won’t want to leave.

My Thoughts

The Crowns of Croswald is such a great start to a middle grade fantasy series and I had so much fun reading it.

I loved being introduced to a whole new group of fascinating and mysterious characters as well as exploring a new, magical setting for the first time. 

Ivy is such a cool character.  Headstrong and brave, she is mysteriously invited to study to become a scrivenist at a very prestigious school.  Her new life is world’s away from where she grew up (without her family) but what should be a simple new start suddenly becomes more exciting and dangerous than ever.  Ivy is a great friend but is also portrayed as the child she is.  She makes rash and sometimes selfish decisions and most children of her age would.  I think any middle grade aged child would relate to her in some ways.  Her friend Rebecca is fun too.  I also enjoyed some of the mystery surround school teachers and the unseen Dark Queen. 

I enjoyed the setting of a school and definitely had Hogwarts vibes but also unique in its own way.  I really wish someone would invent all those teas and pies for real as I could certainly use them in my office at work. 

I really enjoyed the beginning of Ivy’s adventures and am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.  Book 1 really lays the foundations, and I cannot wait to see where it goes. 

Author Bio – D. E Night

One of the first creatures I dreamt up for Croswald was a hairie. I was driving home from a spontaneous trip to Orlando (Disney, of course!) with one of my closest friends, Melissa. On our drive home, I was sharing my newest story ideas with her––this was very early on and when I had just started writing. I remember she asked me, “How do people in Croswald read at night?” And a vision of hairies popped into my head. Little, furry, nosey fairies who love human interaction and have hair that glows when they are interested in what they see.

2 comments

Leave a comment