Let’s Not Be Friends by Phoebe MacLeod – Blog Tour

Thank to Pheobe MacLeod, Boldwood Books and Netgalley for a copy of this book in return for an honest review and Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for organising this blog tour.

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Jo Watson, Mhairi McFarlane and Portia MacIntosh.

City girl Sophie has married the prince (or landed gentry – close enough), moved to his pile (which is more accurate a description than she’d anticipated) and is set to live happily ever after – until she finds the other half of her perfect life in the stables with the stable girl, and they’re definitely not grooming the horses.

Shocked and appalled, Sophie’s no happier to learn that she’s supposed to ‘just get on with it’. After all, according to her mother-in-law, she got the title . . . they even overlooked her family’s ‘new money’ status.

What a lovely family she’s married into! But what’s a girl to do when she’s still in love? Make it work or leg it as fast as she can? Either way, the mother-in-law will not be coming to tea!

What readers are saying about Phoebe MacLeod:

‘A perfect love story’

‘Humorous, light and romantic!’

‘I absolutely loved it. Heart-warming, just perfect!’

 ‘I loved every minute reading this book, light hearted and fun, finished in a day!’

‘I smiled so much’

‘What a wonderful book’

‘Fantastic’

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/3KelOne

My Thoughts

I was sucked into this book immediately and thoroughly enjoyed this story of second chances and rediscovering who you are.

The novel opens with Sophie, a wedding planner, finally organising and participating in her own wedding to the man of her dreams. Forward 4 years in time and Sophie is blissfully living the country life until she finds her husband cheating on her.  With very little comfort from her in-laws, Sophie embarks on a journey to repair her life and find herself again.

I enjoyed the way the author explored some very real responses to a marriage breakdown and that Sophie wasn’t over it and moving on in a few days.  The way she sought counselling and solace and tried really hard to repair the damage was heartbreaking but really realistic. 

I love a book with a community vibe and this is a theme here.  Sophie was so wronged by the people she thought she could rely on but people of the village really came together to support her.  I adore stories that restore my faith in humanity.

I thoroughly enjoyed being part of Sophie’s journey and really loved reading this book.  It’s a great uplifting read that is fun in places and heart-warming in others. 

Author Bio – Phoebe MacLeod

Phoebe MacLeod is the author of several popular laugh-out-loud romantic comedies. She mainly sets her books in her home county of Kent and her first new title for Boldwood will be published in November 2022. They will also be republishing her existing titles from August this year.

Social Media Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PhoebeMacleodAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/macleod_phoebe

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/phoebemacleod21/

Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/PhoebeMacLeodNews

Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/phoebe-macleod

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s