Darker Days to Come (A DI Bliss Novel) by Tony J Forder – Blog Tour

Thank you to Donna Morfett for organising this tour and to Tony Forder for a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and unbiased review.


Darker Days to Come, by Tony J Forder, is the the ninth full-length novel in his widely acclaimed UK crime series, based in Peterborough and featuring DI Jimmy Bliss. It will be published on 14 March 2022.

In this book, Tony veers back towards the more procedural elements of crime investigation, with the team working under enormous pressure – which only increases with every new piece of information they unearth.

DI Bliss and his team absorb two new cases which don’t initially present as major crimes.

But who is the man who stepped in front of an express train? Did he willingly commit suicide or was he coerced? And what, if any, connection is there to an abandoned vehicle whose owner cannot be traced?

As Bliss and his team dig deeper they soon realise there are three people now missing – a journalist, a mother, and her young daughter. But as the investigations continue, the team struggle with too many unanswered questions. What they do know is that lives are at risk, and the chances of finding all three still alive decrease with each passing hour…

My Thoughts

DI Bliss is back and I am delighted to be reviewer his latest outing today in Darker Days to Come.

Two cases – seemingly unconnected and not even major crimes to begin with, but as more clues are uncovered, the more sinister the crimes seem. 

I love Bliss.  He’s a little different in this novel and despite being the same old hardworking, grumpy, sarcastic bloke – he’s calmer and lighter and a lot more chilled – like a weight has been lifted.  The plot and crimes are still dark but Bliss himself is not so much.  I like this new Bliss – it made me feel a bit fuzzy knowing that he seemed happier in himself.

One thing I love about Bliss novels are the recurring characters and how there are some changes throughout the series but the team remains very similar.  It means you get to know them as and their quirks and watch how their working relationships develop over time and getting to know everything they bring to the team.  I liked seeing more of Ansari this time and I really enjoy the banter between them all.

One case the team are dealing with is that of an abandoned car containing blood stains and paperwork belonging to a lawyer suing the police force.  The other is the case of a man who jumped in-front of a train but all is not as it seems.  With missing people who need to be found, the time is running out for Bliss and his team to put the pieces together. 

The procedural part of this book was fascinating too.  I enjoyed learning more about the different aspects involved in solving a case.  Watching all the pieces slowly fit together and trying to work out (badly) what was happening made this such an enjoyable read. 

If you haven’t read any of the DI Bliss novels yet then I strongly recommend them.  They don’t need to be read in order although as usual, you do gain a better understanding of character development and the team building if you do. 

I highly recommend this series for people who enjoy dark crime  and I cannot wait to join Bliss and the team again on another case.

Author Bio – Tony Forder

Tony J Forder is the author of the bestselling DI Bliss crime thriller series. The first seven books, Bad to the Bone, The Scent of Guilt, If Fear Wins, The Reach of Shadows, The Death of Justice, Endless Silent Scream, and Slow Slicing, were joined in December 2020 by a prequel novella, Bliss Uncovered. The series continued with The Autumn Tree in May 2021.
Tony’s other early series – two action-adventure novels featuring Mike Lynch – comprises both Scream Blue Murder and Cold Winter Sun. These books were republished in April 2021, and will be joined in 2022 by The Dark Division.

In addition, Tony has written two standalone novels: a dark, psychological crime thriller, Degrees of Darkness, and a suspense thriller set in California, Fifteen Coffins.

The Huntsmen, released on 4 October 2022, was the first book in a new crime series, set in Wiltshire. It featured DS Royston Chase, DC Claire Laney, and PCSO Alison May.

Tony is in the process of moving to Sussex with his wife and is a full-time author. He is currently working on DI Bliss #10 and the second DS Chase novel.


All of Tony’s links can be found on Linktree: https://linktr.ee/TonyJForder

Darker Days to Come: getbook.at/DDtC

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s