The Ends of the Earth by Abbie Greaves – Blog Tour

A big thank you to Penguin Random House, Abbie Greaves and Netgalley for an advance copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis

The breathtaking new novel from the author of The Silent Treatment – for fans of Jojo Moyes, Joanna Cannon and Ruth Jones.

Mary O’Connor has been keeping a vigil for her first love for the past seven years.

Every evening without fail, Mary arrives at Ealing Broadway station and sets herself up among the commuters. In her hands Mary holds a sign which bears the words: ‘Come Home Jim.’

Call her mad, call her a nuisance, call her a drain on society – Mary isn’t going anywhere.

That is, until an unexpected call turns her world on its head. In spite of all her efforts, Mary can no longer find the strength to hold herself together. She must finally face what happened all those years ago, and answer the question – where on earth is Jim? 

My Thoughts

The Ends of the Earth is a complex (but easy to read novel) focussing on many themes and dealing with some heart-breaking and complicated issues yet it does so in a poignant and respectful manner.  Despite having some devastating moments, there is an undertone of character determination, love and friendship and the uplifting parts balance out the darker themes.

Overall this is a novel about mental health.  And what is really refreshing is that it mainly focusses on the mental health of male characters, but also, how this impacts everyone around them.  Not once did I judge a character in this book or feel any malice towards any of them.  What I felt was wanting to take care of them all, wanting to hold them, help them seek help and try to make things a little easier than it easier than it was.  Abbie Greaves captures the devastating effects of depression on those who have it, and those who are around it.  She delicately highlights different causes, symptoms and mindsets so beautifully.

Other themes include love and friendship and these are used to develop characters, tell the story of Mary and Jim in the past and present and compliment the plot beautifully.

My favourite character was actually Kit and I would have loved to delve a little deeper into his mind and life.  Mary was determined and courageous, Ted a gentles soul and Alice desperately trying to avoid her past.  Together they made such a wonderful support network for each other. 

Overall, this is a slower paced novel but it’s not one that should be raced through anyway.  It was compelling and compulsive but often required processing and thinking time in order to truly appreciate and attempt to understand the characters and their lives and the deeper themes.

I highly recommend this novel and would love to hear your thoughts if you have/do read it.       

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3ENjXBp

Waterstones: https://bit.ly/3mSoQ6e

Author Bio – Abbie Greaves

Abbie Greaves is the author of THE SILENT TREATMENT and THE ENDS OF THE EARTH (UK) / ANYWHERE FOR YOU (US).

When she’s not writing, she enjoys modern calligraphy, travelling for inspiration and reading – the greatest hobby of all. She lives in the UK.

Follow her on Instagram: @abbiegreavesauthor

Advertisement

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s