The Kitchen by Laura Carter – Blog Tour

Thank to Laura Carter, Canelo and Netgalley for a copy of this book in return for an honest review and Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for organising this blog tour.

Synopsis

Can they stand the heat…?

Maggie’s in the running to be the next head chef at Michelin-starred Manhattan restaurant, Jean-Sébastien’s. Unfortunately, she’s competing against notoriously arrogant Ethan to prove she’s the best chef for the job.

Food critic Emily can make or break a chef’s career. When she visits the restaurant to see what interim head chef, Maggie, has to offer, Emily is having a particularly bad day…

Single mum Nayomi needs a job and Jean-Sébastien’s needs a kitchen porter – perfect! She just has to keep her head down and money coming in. But she’s desperate to speak up and help struggling chef Maggie – Nayomi’s own skills might be just the recipe to save Maggie’s career and impress Emily.

A delicious story of unexpected friendship and risking it all, for fans of Zara Stoneley and Lauren Weisberger.

Purchase Links

Amazon UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Kitchen-feel-good-unexpected-friendship-romance-ebook/dp/B099MKVY23

Amazon US – https://www.amazon.com/Kitchen-feel-good-unexpected-friendship-romance-ebook/dp/B099MKVY23

My Thoughts

The Kitchen is a delectable as the food served within it and I lapped up every tasty crumb with glee.

The story follows three women struggling to overcome a variety of issues.  Maggie is a woman working in a male dominated profession and under immense pressure to prove herself as the late Jean-Sebastien’s successor as head chef.  She’s determined and talented but is up against a strong candidate and has the additional barrier of a visiting food critic being her ex best friend who has a grudge.  Emily is a food critic and the estranged daughter of Jean-Sebastien with a grudge against Maggie for holding a special place in her father’s heart.  Nayomi is a widow struggling to make ends meet and provide for her children but may just hold the key to Maggie’s success.

As their paths and relationships become entwined, The Kitchen is a homage to the power and strength of women.  Not always perfect, sometimes vengeful but always determined.  Despite their imperfections and questionable choices all three women were really likeable and relatable.  Who doesn’t have times when they behave in undesirable ways? 

The food sounded amazing, and my mouth was watering as I read.  Lots if books talk about desserts but I rarely read ones that give me the whole dining experience.

A heart-warming story of three women and their fight to overcome obstacles in their way with a little help from friends is a brilliant read and I cannot wait to read more by Laura Carter.        

Author Bio – The Kitchen

Laura Carter writes women’s fiction with a romantic slant. Exploring everyday relationships and getting under the skin of her characters is her passion. She takes inspiration from everything she overhears in cafes, so be wary of that strange woman ‘listening’ to music next time you’re chatting over coffee. Laura lives with her family in Jersey, Channel Islands.

Rep’d by Tanera Simons of Darley Anderson Literary, TV & Film Agency.

Learn more about Laura and her books here: http://www.lauracarterauthor.com.

Social Media Links –

Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/lauracarterauthor ), Twitter (@LCarterAuthor) and Instagram (@lauracarterauthor).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s