Greece Actually by Sue Roberts – Blog Tour

Thank you to Sarah Hardy from @BOTBSPublicity for organising this tour and to Sue Roberts, Bookouture and NetGalley for a copy of this novel in exchange for a honest and unbiased review.

Synopsis

Take one sea-view villa, add two dates with a Greek God, a few glasses of wine, a dash of accidental nudity, and a heavy dose of sunshine. Recipe for a perfect getaway… or an absolute disaster?

Small, shy, safe. That’s how Becky lives ever since her last romantic calamity landed her in hospital. Her comfort zone is as confining as her tiny bank balance, and fiercely guarded by her totally over-the-top mum. But the news that her ex is back sniffing round is the final straw. In a very un-Becky move, she packs her bags for the Greek island of Skiathos. Maybe the setting of her favourite ABBA movie will be just the break from reality Becky needs…

Stepping aboard the Mamma Mia! boat tour, Becky leaves her fear in the port as she sings… out loud… in public, and cries Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! to everything the Greek life has to offer. She befriends locals young, old, and absolutely perfect (hello, sizzling hot restaurant-owner Kyros!), dines on freshly baked bread drizzled in golden olive oil on a starlit date, and walks barefoot along silky sandy beaches.

When Kyros asks her to stay longer, Becky is stunned. Could she really create a new life for herself here, and trust her heart with this smooth-talking charmer? But just as she’s thinking about putting down roots, her troublesome ex makes a dramatic return, begging for her back. Will she go back to playing it safe, or will she take a chance on Greece and embrace her true dancing queen?

An absolutely laugh-out-loud summer rom-com guaranteed to give you THAT holiday feeling! Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella.

My Thoughts

Thank you so much to Sue Roberts for taking me on holiday to the Greek Island of Skiathos with day trips to Skopelos, a trip to a few religious buildings, enticing me in with delicious food and plenty of local delicacies and drinks and gracing my eyes with hunky men to feast upon.

The setting is stunning.  I loved Uncle Henry’s villa and the views and surrounding areas were so vividly described that I was there!  I loved the different beaches and I could almost taste each sumptuous dish the girls ate.  I visited Greece as a young adult and would love to go back with a different perspective.

I loved the girls and I always adore books that celebrate friendship.  Their relationship was really endearing and a huge part of this story. 

Becky is such a lovely character and I really wanted her to find happiness.  Whether that was with Kyros or not you’ll have to read to find out.  Her previous relationship was horrific and had left her mentally and physically scarred and I felt so protective over her. 

Greece Actually is such a lovely story with a fabulous setting and wonderful characters.  A perfect pick me up, heart-warming story that will whisk you off to Greece and take you on a Greek adventure.     

Author Bio – Sue Roberts

Sue Roberts lives in Lancashire with her long term partner Derek and has had a lifelong love of writing, encouraged by winning a school writing competition at the age of 11.

She always assumed that ‘one day’ she would write a book, always having a busy household and a job, the idea remained firmly on the back burner but never forgotten.

The inspiration for her first novel came to her on a holiday to a Greek village. Her daughters had left home and suddenly the time had come to write that book!

https://www.instagram.com/suerobertsauthor/

https://twitter.com/suerobertsautho

Buy Links:Amazon: https://bit.ly/2TU8eQbApple: https://apple.co/2T44H10Kobo: https://bit.ly/2T2IkchGoogle: https://bit.ly/3yEkcwJ

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s