The Thames Path Killer (Detective Rob Miller #1) by Biba Pearce – Blog Tour

Thank you to Jill Burkinshaw from https://booksnall.blog/ for oganising this blog tour and to Biba Pearce, Joffe Books and Netgalley for an ARC copy to read in return for an honest and unbiased review.

Synopsis

Please note this book is a completely revised edition of THE SURREY STALKER.

A deranged serial killer targeting brides-to-be. An ambitious young detective. A case that could destroy everything.

A young woman is brutally attacked on her way home. It looks like she was the victim of a jilted — and twisted — ex-lover.

But then two more women, also engaged to be married, are found dead.

The press call the killer the ‘Surrey Stalker’. And there’s a stack of similar cold case files.

The pressure is on for young, ambitious DI Rob Miller.

But with all the time he’s spending at the office, Rob’s also running a fine line trying to keep his fiancée, Yvette, onside as they try to plan their wedding . . .

AN UNSTOPPABLE CRIME MYSTERY THAT YOU WON’T BE ABLE TO PUT DOWN

This page-turning debut is perfect for fans of Helen H. Durrant, James Oswald, Joy Ellis, Angela Marsons, L.J. Ross, Alex Smith and J.M. Dalgliesh.

MEET THE DETECTIVE
DI ROB MILLER
Detective Inspector Rob Miller of the Met is finally given his first case as Senior Investigating Officer. For an ambitious, young detective, this is a dream come true. He’s gunning for promotion, and will do anything for his job, but can he also keep his personal life in check?

THE SETTING
The Murder Investigation Team is based out of leafy Putney, with its overgrown often-flooded riverbanks. One way the river leads into central London, the other out into the countryside. It’s an idyllic setting that masks a criminal underworld.

My Thoughts

I was gripped from the very opening paragraphs of this debut novel and new crime series by Biba Pearce!

The opening pages are an intriguing, but dark insight told through the eyes of the killer.  It plays like a film on screen, like a crash you know is going to happen, but you can’t do anything to prevent it.  His perspective is sprinkled throughout the main narrative, and this works really well.  It gives small clues to motive and method, gives an additional perspective and adds a malevolence to the whole novel.

Most of the narrative is told from the perspective of the police investigation, led by DCI Rob Miller who is in lead officer for the very first time.  Initially it looks as though the killer is someone with a grudge or a random attack however as evidence builds, it becomes clear something more sinister is happening.   

The police procedural aspect is fast paced and fascinating.  I love the inclusion of profiling and the post-mortems to gain evidence and clues.  The tension felt through the characters as they struggle to solve the crime is intense and I imagine reflects how fraught and frustrating solving a murder must be.  There is a good balance of Rob’s personal life thrown in too which helps to bring his character to life and sets out a path for further novels in the series.  

I really enjoyed the character of Rob Miller and I cannot wait to read more about him and his team in future novels.

An excellent crime novel and introduction to a new series.

Author Bio – Biba Pearce

Biba Pearce is a British crime writer and author of the DCI Rob Miller series.

Biba grew up in post-apartheid Southern Africa. As a child, she lived on the wild eastern coast and explored the sub-tropical forests and surfed in shark-infested waters.

Now a full-time writer with more than twenty-five novels under her belt, Biba lives in leafy Surrey and when she isn’t writing, can be found walking through the countryside or kayaking on the river Thames.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s