Specter by Katie Jane Gallagher – Blog Tour

I received this book to read and review as part of the BBNYA 2020 competition and the BBNYA tours organised by the @The_WriteReads tours team. All opinions are my own, unbiased and honest.

BBNYA is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors. 

If you are an author and wish to learn more about the 2021 BBNYA competition, you can visit the official website (https://www.bbnya.com/) or our Twitter account, @BBNYA_Official. If you would like to sign-up and enter your book, you can find the BBNYA 2021 AUTHOR SIGN UP FORM HERE. Please make sure to carefully read our terms and conditions before entering. 

If you are a book blogger or reviewer, you can apply to be part of BBNYA 2021 by filling out this form (also remember to read the terms and conditions before signing up)! 

BBNYA is brought to you in association with the Folio Society (If you love beautiful books you NEED to check out their website!) And the book blogger support group TheWriteReads.

Synopsis

Stranger Things with a ghostly twist! This gripping, genre-bending debut will keep you holding your breath till the very last page.

Horror aficionado Lanie Adams should be thrilled when two eighties-era ghosts materialize in her bedroom. Yet after a fainting incident unbecoming of a horror nerd, she would rather her haunting just go away—the ghosts’ waterlogged voices and ice-cold auras are more terrifying than any movie. Enlisting the help of Ryan, an entirely-too-cute stoner, she makes it her mission to put the spirits stalking her to rest.

Some sleuthing reveals that their sleepy Connecticut town is host to a shadowy, decades-old conspiracy. If Lanie wants to say a final goodbye to her ghosts, she’ll need to keep digging. But it’s important to tread carefully. The culprit is still in town—and they’ll stop at nothing to keep the truth buried.

Perfect for fans of Stranger Things! With strong characters who are easy to root for, this stunning, multilayered debut is not to be missed.

My Thoughts

I was very honoured to read Specter as part of the #BBNYA competition and I’m so excited to share my review with you today.

Specter is a paranormal thriller, spooky enough to cause some chills but gentle and light in other aspects.  It’s a lot of fun to read and has a fast-moving pace so is constantly entertaining.

The main character Lainie is one I would have identified with as a teen.  I had a few more friends but I’d often chose reading a good book over anything else (still do).  I loved how her relationship with Ryan develops over the course of the book.  He’s a good match – showing interest in her issues and supporting her with them and they make an intelligent team.

The small-town feel gives the setting a spooky atmosphere without being too intimidating and over the top.  It doesn’t feel completely sinister but there is always a stirring of malevolence in there.  This feeling was increased throughout as I learned more about the town and some residents.   

My favourite part was the mystery solving and  I enjoyed trying to unravel the clues and trying to figure out where they were going to lead but the many twists and turns kept me on my toes. 

I thoroughly enjoyed reading Specter and for me I just wished it had been a little longer, allowing more time to explore the different aspects but it works really well as a Young Adult thriller.  I’d love to see more of Lainie and Ryan in future mystery novels too and to be part of the development of their relationship and the maturing of their characters.

An all round entertaining novel that touches on many tropes, with characters that readers can identify with.             

Author Bio – Katie Jane Gallagher

Instagram: @katiejanegallagher

Katie Jane Gallagher is the author of Specter and The Gold in the Dark. Her stories feature relatable, realistic characters who get swept up in extraordinary events. An avid reader of YA and genre fiction, she has a self-proclaimed affinity for the best sorts of trash.

Born and raised in Illinois, Katie currently lives in Connecticut with her stupendous, half-human half-neanderthal husband and their dopey boxer dog. She graduated magna cum laude from Connecticut College in 2012, with a bachelor’s degree in Chinese language and literature and a minor in history. 

8 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s