Slow Slicing (DI Biss #7) by Tony Forder – Blog Tour

Thank you to Sarah Hardy from @BOTBSPublicity for organising this tour and to Tony Forder and Spare Nib Books for a copy of this novel in exchange for a honest and unbiased review.

This post may contain Amazon Affiliate Links which means that if you purchase an item from a link on my site, I get a small commission at no cost to you.

Purchase Link:


The bestselling author of the compelling DI Bliss crime series is back with another stunning novel.

When slices of flesh and body parts are discovered in different areas of the country, DI Bliss and his team are tasked with running the operation. After Bliss realises the victims have been subjected to a specific form of torture, it leads him to a cold case involving the brutal and bloody murder of a woman in London twenty-six years earlier.

As the team discover links between their victims, the murdered woman, and gangland crime, they begin a dangerous investigation into both the past and the present. But Bliss is stumped, unable to decide if the current spate of mutilations are acts of revenge or the result of ageing criminals seeking to hide their despicable actions. Following a leak to the media, Bliss’s reaction may have dire consequences.

With the hunt for the victims at fever point, Bliss uncovers evidence steering him in the direction of one particular individual. The only problem being, his prime suspect is the one person it cannot possibly be. When Bliss orders a sting operation, the astonishing truth is revealed. And that’s when things really start to go wrong…

The stunning DI Bliss series of fast-paced police thrillers will appeal to fans of authors like Michael Connelly, Joy Ellis, Peter James, Robert Bryndza and Angela Marsons. Tony J Forder is also the bestselling author of Degrees of Darkness, Scream Blue Murder and Cold Winter Sun.

My Thoughts

I had read some of the previous novels in the series but not all (I’m working on it) but the DI Bliss books do work as stand alone crime thrillers. Of course there are references to events and to character development from the earlier books however it doesn’t imapct the enjoyment of reading one alone or out of order.

Slices of flesh have been found in different places and are potentially linked to a cold case from a long time ago. Heading up a multi-departemental investigation and battling with health and personal issues, DI Bliss certainly has his hands full to try and stop more killings.

The opening chapter had me completely hooked. Dark and creepy is my thing and this one pulls no punches with its gripping opening chapter. I feel this is much darker than the other Bliss novels and I like it! (I also loved the other ones too but this feels different). I couldn’t stop reading after that introduction and the plot remained rivetting and exciting all the way through. The plot itself also seem more intricate than previous ones. The case is much more complex and unique than previous ones and requires a different type of police work. I loved trying to work out where things were going, what the motive may be etc.

The character of Bliss is developing too and his doubt and personal issues are woven well into the threads of the main crime plot. It makes for a personal, more intense read as I became really invested in the case and Bliss’s well being.

A unique crime and well developed characters makes this a fascinating and deliciously dark read. Highly recommended for crime fans who like a to feel the goosebumps.

Author Bio – Tony Forder

Tony J Forder is the author of the bestselling crime thriller series featuring detectives Jimmy Bliss and Penny Chandler. The first six books, Bad to the Bone, The Scent of GuiltIf Fear Wins, The Reach of ShadowsThe Death of Justice, and Endless Silent Scream, will be joined on 10 August 2020 by Slow Slicing, and in December by the DI Bliss prequel novella, Bliss Uncovered.

Tony’s dark, psychological crime thriller, Degrees of Darkness, featuring ex-detective Frank Rogers, was also published by Bloodhound Books. This is a stand-alone serial-killer novel. Scream Blue Murder, an action-adventure thrillerwas published in November 2017, and received praise from many, including fellow authors Mason Cross, Matt Hilton and Anita Waller. The sequel, Cold Winter Sun, was published in November 2018.

In November, Tony will release a new standalone suspense thriller set in California, called Fifteen Coffins.

Tony lives with his wife in Peterborough, UK, and is now a full-time author. He is currently editing a new novel, and has also started on Bliss #7, Slow Slicing.




Twitter: @TonyJForder

Amazon Author:


Fantastic Fiction:

Tony can also be found on Instagram.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s