The Patient Man by Joy Ellis – Blog Tour

BLOG TOUR BANNER - The Patient Man

Thank you to Jill Burkinshaw from https://booksnall.blog/ for oganising this blog tour and to Joy Ellis and Joffe Books for an ARC copy to read in return for an honest and unbiased review.

This post may contain Amazon Affiliate Links which means that if you purchase an item from a link on my site, I get a small commission at no cost to you.

Purchase Link: https://amzn.to/3dW5iGI

patient man FINALPUBLISH

Synopsis

THE PATIENT MAN a gripping crime thriller full of stunning twists (JACKMAN & EVANS Book 6) 

From #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis, a totally absorbing mystery full of stunning twists and turns. Discover the author who’s sold over two million books globally.

A MYSTERY WHICH WILL CAPTIVATE YOU FROM START TILL THE DRAMATIC ENDING

JACKMAN AND EVANS’ MOST DANGEROUS ENEMY IS BACK TO FINISH THINGS OFF
The domestic bliss of Detective Inspector Rowan Jackman of Fenland Constabulary doesn’t last long. His nemesis, serial killer Alistair Ashcroft, is back in town and ready to tidy up unfinished business.

Ashcroft sends a sinister text to DS Marie Evans. His opening move in what will prove to be a lethal game of cat-and-mouse. Yet for all his taunts, where is he? In a county crawling with police on the lookout for him, Ashcroft is nowhere to be found.

EVERYONE JACKMAN CARES ABOUT IS IN DANGER
Alongside the hunt for Ashcroft, normal police work must continue. The separate thefts of guns, six pigs, a thoroughbred stallion and some oil lead Jackman’s crew to the notorious Lorimer family, ruled over on their farm by the fearsome matriarch Rachel.

Meanwhile, a seemingly routine break-in at the home of gun-club owner Kenneth Harcourt quickly becomes more complicated when the man long held responsible for having killed Harcourt’s young daughter in a hit-and-run is shot dead in a carpark — by a sniper.

A killer is on the loose in the quiet streets of Saltern-le-Fen and he isn’t going to stop at claiming one life. But why is he focusing on young Kevin, so close to promotion to detective?

A LETHAL GAME WITH A VERY PATIENT MAN

And the sniper, like Ashcroft, takes to taunting the police: they’ll never catch him, they need to respect him, they shouldn’t be side-tracked looking for their old adversary.

In a stunning conclusion, Jackman and Evans race against time to catch the sniper and track down their deadly adversary.

Full of twists and turns, this is a crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages until the shocking ending. Set in the atmospheric Lincolnshire Fens whose towns and isolated villages hide many dark secrets.

CAN THEY FINALLY STOP ALISTAIR ASHCROFT?

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

THE DETECTIVES
DI Jackman leads the investigation. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team. DS Marie Evans is haunted by the loss of her husband in a motorbike accident. She is fiercely loyal to her friends and colleagues.

My Thoughts

Despite being part of a series this novel works well as a stand alone.  I haven;t read the previous ones in this series however I feel reading The Guilty Ones before hand would give a better insight into the events in this novel.  (But this is not essential.)

You can always count on Joy Ellis to provide a solidly brilliant crime thriller full of twists and turns and with The Patient Man, she doesn’t disappoint.  The plot is cleverly constructed and just when you think you have a handle on where it’s going – it changes direction.  I was kept on my toes throughout and I loved playing detective – even if I was wrong at every turn.

One thing I really like about Joy’s books is that she develops characters really well but character development never detracts from the main crime plot.  It’s woven in naturally and runs through the story rather than being a separate addition.  However, this doesn’t distract from how good the character development is.  Evans and Jackman are the principle characters but I loved how the team works together and each character brings something different to the table.

An excellent traditional crime novel that is focused on detective work and piecing the puzzle together.  Some great twists and suspense.  Highly recommended.

Author Bio – Joy Ellis

Joy Ellis new author photo

UK #1 BEST SELLER WITH THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS, DARKNESS ON THE FENS, THE FOURTH FRIEND, BEWARE THE PAST, FIRE ON THE FENS, AND THE GUILTY ONES

OVER 2 MILLION BOOKS SOLD!

“I was born in Kent but spent most of my working life in London and Surrey. I was an apprentice florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the sixties and seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. What an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! I swore then, probably whilst I was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that I would have a shop of my own one day. It took until the early eighties, but I did it. Sadly the recession wiped us out, and I embarked on a series of weird and wonderful jobs; the last one being a bookshop manager. Surrounded by books all day, getting to order whatever you liked, and being paid for it! Oh bliss!

And now I live in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens with my partner, Jacqueline, a highly decorated retired police officer, and our four barking mad Springer spaniels. If I do get any spare time, which is rare these days, my one relaxation is painting, especially using soft pastels. We have been here for twenty years now and although I’ll never be a true ‘Yeller Belly’, a native born to this county, I have adopted it as my own. I love the mists, the big skies and the endless waterways. All my books are set here on the Fens, and why not? The location is perfect for murder!”

BOOKS BY JOY ELLIS

DI NIKKI GALENA SERIES:

CRIME ON THE FENS

SHADOW OVER THE FENS

HUNTED ON THE FENS

KILLER ON THE FENS

STALKER ON THE FENS

CAPTIVE ON THE FENS

BURIED ON THE FENS

THIEVES ON THE FENS

FIRE ON THE FENS

DARKNESS ON THE FENS

HIDDEN ON THE FENS

NIKKI GALENA BOX SET, BOOKS 1-3

NIKKI GALENA BOX SET, BOOKS 4-6

NIKKI GALENA BOX SET, BOOKS 7-9

 

JACKMAN & EVANS SERIES:

THE MURDERER’S SON

THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS

FOURTH FRIEND

THE GUILTY ONES

THE STOLEN BOYS

THE PATIENT MAN

 

MATT BALLARD SERIES:

BEWARE THE PAST

FIVE BLOODY HEARTS

 

STANDALONE NOVELS:

GUIDE STAR

 

FIND JOY ON

AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
GOODREADS

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s