That Holiday in France by Rhoda Baxter – Blog Tour

That Holiday In France Banner

Thank to Rhoda Baxter for a copy of this book in return for an honest review and Sarah Hardy @BOTBSPublicity for organising this blog tour.

This post may contain Amazon Affiliate Links which means that if you purchase an item from a link on my site, I get a small commission at no cost to you.

Purchase Link: https://amzn.to/3cAyBOv

That Holiday In France Cover final

Synopsis

When Ellie’s boyfriend forbids her from going to France to attend her best friend’s wedding, she decides she’s had enough. She dumps him and goes to France by herself. But travelling alone is scary and Ellie realises how reliant she’d become on the men in her life.
On holiday, she learns to trust her own judgement and grows in confidence. Just when she decides she doesn’t need a man to complete her, she meets Ash, who is everything her ex wasn’t.
But is Ellie willing to give up her new found independence and link herself to another man?

  • Friends to lovers
  • Heroine asserting her independence
  • Summer in France
  • Tiny puddings

That Holiday In France is a standalone story set in the little Yorkshire village of Trewton Royd. Ideal for fans of Mhairi McFarlane or Sophie Kinsella.

My Thoughts

I absolutely adored this book.  To be honest, Sarah had me at ‘tiny puddings’ when the email came out.  I loved joining Ellie on her journey to France but even more, on her journey to discover that there’s so much more to life than the small town where she lives.  This is one of those novels where you just cheer the main character on from start to finish – like a good friend you want to see find their way.

That Holiday in France is a short novel but the perfect length for Ellie’s story and the plot flows at a good pace.  In general the narrative is uplifting and heartwarming although does have a more serious message in there. The character of Luke is written so well.  He is an example of a controlling and abusive partner who never lifts a finger to Ellie and I feel these are often the cases that go most unnoticed – even by victims themselves.  He literally made my skin crawl and I am so pleased Ellie got rid when she did. So pleased that she stood up to her father too.

Phew…..now for the rest of the novel……

Ellie is a lovable character who is generally well loved by her community but has lost her way a little.  I was warmed by the support of her bakery comrades and her friend Sophie.  The journey to France was such a happy journey and I loved seeing it through Ellie’s eyes as a first time traveler.  I had well and truly forgotten that feeling.

A wonderful uplifting and enjoyable novella.  I loved it.

Author Bio – Rhoda Baxter

Rhoda Baxter author photo

Rhoda Baxter writes romantic comedies about strong heroines and nice-guy heroes. Having studied microbiology at university, Rhoda likes all things science geeky. She also loves cake, crochet and playing with Lego. She lives in Yorkshire with her young family and wishes she had more time to bake.

You can find out more about her (and get a free book by signing up to her newsletter) on her website.

www.rhodabaxter.com

Twitter @rhodabaxter

Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/RhodaBaxterAuthor

4 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s