An Oxford Revenge by Maxine Barry (Faith Martin) – Blog Tour

Oxford Revenge Blog Tour Banner (1)

Thank you to Jill Burkinshaw from https://booksnall.blog/ for oganising this blog tour and to Maxine Barry (Faith Martin), Joffe Books and Netgalley for an ARC copy to read in return for an honest and unbiased review.

This post may contain Amazon Affiliate Links which means that if you purchase an item from a link on my site, I get a small commission at no cost to you.

Purchase Link:https://amzn.to/3cCwQjE

An Oxford Revenge PUBLISH COVER

Synopsis

REVENGE ISN’T ALWAYS AS SWEET AS YOU THINK

Faith Martin is the author of the beloved Hillary Greene series. Her books have sold more than 2 million copies. Discover her writing as Maxine Barry.

HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO FOR REVENGE?

Davina Granger wants revenge. She blames Dr Gareth Lacey for her brother’s suicide. When she gets a fellowship at his Oxford college, she sees her chance to punish him.

But is he really as guilty as she believes?

Alicia Norman is a student at the same college. She’s excited to leave her sheltered, privileged existence for college life. But her brother and his friends will do anything to stop her from being with anyone they think isn’t posh enough for her. Including murder?

HOW FAR WILL THEY GO?

Perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Helen Cox, L.J. Ross, Willow Rose and Lisa Reagan.

My Thoughts

I love mysteries (cosy or dark) and I love romances but it’s rare to come across a novel that mixes both genres.  I loved how refreshing this cross over was and I really enjoyed reading this.  I think having both genres together added a little uncertainty to the direction of the plot and this suited me fine – I love surprises.

Maxine (Faith) always has a detailed way to describe characters and really brings them to life.  I found that The main protagonists Davina and Alice were well developed and described.  I did struggle to place the time this novel was set in as it is quite prim and proper but a small clue revealed it to be the noughties.  I loved how the main characters are both intelligent female and I do feel Maxine flies the flag for realistic ‘girl power’ in her novels.

I’ve never been to Oxford (pretty sure the university would never let me in) but I love the description of the campus and surrounding areas and a glimpse of life inside a high ranking university.  I always felt it was a totally different life to my student days.  The vivid description really helped paint a picture in my head and created an atmosphere of hustle and bustle.

If you are reading a book for complete realism then this may not tickle your fancy but if you’re willing to go with the flow of a revenge mystery the this plot is thoroughly enjoyable.  There’s the added bonus of almost two plots weaving in and out of each other.  Davina is set on revenge for her brother’s suicide and really doesn’t plan for what happens.  Alicia has found love with a fellow student but comes under scrutiny form her family who are determined for her to take a different path.  How far will they go to block Alicia’s choices?

Overall this is an entertaining romance/mystery and has a really gentle story telling feel.  The characters and setting are well developed and suck you into this story.  Recommended for cosy mystery lovers who like something a little different.

Author Bio – Maxine Barry

Author Photo

Faith Martin was born in Oxford, and has spent all her life within twenty miles of the university city, even working at Somerville College for five years before turning to writing full-time. The author of the popular DI Hillary Greene novels, she also writes more classic-style ‘whodunits’ under the pen name Joyce Cato, but began her writing career as Maxine Barry, winning an award for penning romance novels! A popular writer for over 25 years, she has had nearly 50 novels published so far. Her hobbies include walking her now ageing dog, wildlife-watching, reading and (reluctantly) gardening.

Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100019047572005

Twitter: @faithmartin_nov

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s