The Sister In Law by Sue Watson – Blog Tour

Jb2zoP3w

Thank you to Sarah Hardy from @BOTBSPublicity for organising this tour and to Sue Watson, Bookouture and NetGalley for a copy of this novel in exchange for a honest and unbiased review.

This post may contain Amazon Affiliate Links which means that if you purchase an item from a link on my site, I get a small commission at no cost to you.

Purchase Link: https://amzn.to/3fo6mFs

KyBTPWBw

Synopsis

‘You don’t think Jamie and I have secrets, do you? No, we tell each other everything.’ She smiled. ‘Including your dirty little secret. So maybe it’s time to start being nice to me?’

THE WIFE: Clare is ready for a break. It’s been a tough year and now she wants to put her feet up. Arriving at the Italian villa for their summer holiday, she decides it’s high time her husband and his family did some of the work. After all, her husband owes her…

THE HUSBAND: Even though Dan had his head turned by someone else, he’s realised the error of his ways. He’s here now, and he says it’s for keeps. Clare can trust him, can’t she? At least he’ll have his brother there, to keep him in line…

THE BROTHER: Jamie is the prodigal child, back in the family fold again after years of travelling abroad. But when he gets to the villa, he’s not alone. He’s brought a wife, someone none of them have met before.

THE SISTER-IN-LAW: Ella is everything Clare isn’t. Glamorous. Young. Influential. But she knows a secret about Clare. Something that has the power to break the whole family apart.

And there’s someone who will do whatever it takes to make sure that this deep secret never comes to the surface.

An utterly unputdownable, gripping, twisty psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Before I Go To SleepThe Girl on the Train and Date Night.

My Thoughts

I’ve read many of Sue Watson’s romance novels and I always adored them.  They made me feel all warm and squishy inside and in need of cake.  The Sister In Law did not have this effect at all but boy is it thrilling and intense and utterly brilliant.

The women certainly take the lead in this thriller which I loved.  The story is told from Clare’s perspective using first person narrative.  Clare has been through quite a bit recently and is looking forward to a relaxing break with her family and in-laws in Italy.  She gets on well with her mother-in-law Joy but sometimes Joy attempts to be a little controlling over Clare.  They are soon joined by her brother in law Jamie who has brought his new wife Ella to stay.  From the start, Ella seems to be cool towards Clare, making disparaging remarks and seemingly trying to stir things between Clare and her in-laws.  But when Ella reveals that she knows Clare’s secret, things really become intense.  Just what are Ella’s intentions?

Clare is already highly anxious and has zero confidence but does this make her point of view reliable?  Sue Watson plays on this well as the story builds Ella’s behaviour becomes more sinister but knowing that Clare has a secret of her own just adds mystery to the whole situation.  Ella is perfectly written and a character that readers will hate almost instantly and I found myself screaming at everyone else in the book and not understanding why they couldn’t see it.The plot develops at a good pace that leaves you wanting more and unable to put the book down until the very last pages.

A very suspenseful read full of twists and turns and a family that you become so involved with that you cannot help but shout out at them.  Brilliant and highly recommended.

Author Bio – Sue Watson

Sue Watson Pub Picture

Sue Watson was a TV Producer at the BBC until she wrote her first book and was hooked.

Now a USA Today bestselling author, Sue has written fifteen novels – many involving cake – which have been translated into several languages and involved tough ‘cake research.’ Sue is now exploring the darker side of life with her thrillers OUR LITTLE LIES, THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR, THE EMPTY NEST and THE SISTER-IN-LAW. Writing in this new genre doesn’t involve the deep research of baked goods and Sue’s hoping the change in direction will be reflected on the weighing scales.

Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her husband and teenage daughter in Worcestershire where much of her day is spent writing – okay, procrastinating, eating and watching ‘My 600lb Life,’ on the sofa.

more info visit Sue’s website; http://www.suewatsonbooks.com/

Sue would love to meet you on FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/suewatsonbooks

Follow Sue on Twitter @suewatsonwriter

Buy Links:

4 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s