Why She Ran by Geraldine Hogan – Blog Tour

Blog Tour - Why She Ran.jpg

Thank you to Sarah Hardy from @BOTBSPublicity for organising this tour and to Geraldine Hogan, Bookouture and Netgalley for a copy of this novel in exchange for a honest and unbiased review.

510rtxX0A9L

Synopsis

‘Rachel. They must have made a mistake. A mother would know?’ She let her words pour into the emptiness of the kitchen. She began to shiver. ‘I can’t feel anything,’ she said softly and rocked back and forth, as if she was a huge child, seeking solace in the simple gesture.

When young, pretty nurse Rachel McDermott is found murdered in the harsh lights of the hospital kitchen where she works, her mother can’t accept the news, and the small Irish town of Corbally reels in disbelief. Rushing to the scene, Detective Iris Locke vows to find the sick killer, whatever it takes.

The last person to see Rachel alive was her close friend, sixteen-year-old Eleanor Marshall, a troubled teenager, estranged from her family. Eleanor was spotted fleeing the kitchen where Rachel’s body was found and becomes the main suspect. Iris has a search party combing the endless woods near the Comeragh mountains where they believe she is hiding. But Iris is consumed with worry for the vulnerable girl and can’t shake a prickly disquiet that Eleanor shouldn’t be a suspect.

Eleanor’s sister agrees but a day later, when she is found dead in the area Eleanor is hiding, things don’t look good for the runaway teen. Iris can’t see Eleanor, who still sleeps with her childhood teddy bear, as someone who would kill her little sister and her best friend, but all the evidence seems to point that way.

Sleep-deprived and desperate to find the truth, Iris takes a closer look into Rachel’s background and discovers that she was keeping strange, shadowy company the night before she died. Convinced that Eleanor is in terrible danger, Iris sets out to find her, in the icy-cold woods, alone. But what if somebody else makes their way through the darkness and reaches Iris and Eleanor first?

This gripping mystery thriller is perfect for fans of Carol Wyer, Robert Dugoni and LJ Ross.

My Thoughts

I read this novel as a stand alone and it worked really well although there seems to be emphasis on how events in the first book have affected the main protagonist so I would recommend reading Her Sister’s Bones first.  This didn’t dull my enjoyment of this fantastic novel though and I am definitely off to read book 1 in anticipation for further books in this series.

The ‘She’ is Eleanor, a sixteen year old who is either guilty or a witness to an horrific murder.  As the story unravels, there is evidence pointing towards Eleanor but Locke and Eleanor’s sister think differently and realise she is in severe danger.  Can they track her down in time?

I’d primarily class this book as a police procedural but the writing is so strong and the plot is so intricate and unique that I’d also say it is definitely a page turning thriller too.  The pace of the story is steady, it’s not lightening fast but this works well.  Each character is very well developed and we see them at their best and their worst.  Their insecurities and vulnerabilities are explored in depth giving them a more three dimensional personality beyond the role of police officer.

I was completely hooked from the opening pages and found the plot riveting.  Two main narratives run through the novel.  Locke and her team trying desperately to solve Rachel’s murder with little information to work with and Eleanor’s flight and the efforts to track her down.  Both plots unwind gently, allowing the reader to become fully invested in each part and allowing the author to weave a cleverly plotted tale and lead the reader to an explosive ending.

I’m delighted to have had the opportunity to discover Geraldine Hogan and cannot wait to dive into more of her novels.

Author Bio – Geraldine Hogan

81pcATwVdDL._US230_

Geraldine Hogan was born in Ireland. She gained an Honors Degree in English Literature and Psychology from Dublin City University and a Postgraduate Degree in Training and Management from University College, Galway. She is an Irish award-winning and bestselling author of four contemporary fiction novels under the pen name Faith Hogan.
HER SISTER’S BONES is her first crime novel, her second WHY SHE RAN is due out in December 2019.
She is currently working on her next novel. She lives in the west of Ireland with her husband, four children and a very busy Labrador named Penny. She’s a writer, reader, enthusiastic dog walker and reluctant jogger – except of course when it is raining!

You can find out more about Geraldine here:
http://www.Facebook/GeraldineHoganAuthor.com
Twitter @gerhogan
https://www.instagram.com/faithhoganauthor/?hl=en

Buy Links:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s