Two Victims by Helen Durrant – Blog Tour

Blog Tour banner 2 victims.jpg

Thank you to Jill Burkinshaw from https://booksnall.blog/ for oganising this blog tour and to Helen Durrant and Joffe Publishing for an ARC copy to read in return for an honest and unbiased review.

TWO VICTIMS 2.jpg

Synopsis

MEET DETECTIVE RACHEL KING IN THIS BRILLIANT NEW CRIME SERIES.

DCI Rachel King. Thirty-nine year-old mother of two teenage daughters. Divorced from Alan.  She lives in the Cheshire village of Poynton – about ten miles from central Manchester. She is good at her job, gets results but does make mistakes. One of them was getting involved with a budding villain in her teens. No one, family, friends or colleagues know anything about this.

DISCOVER A BRAND NEW MYSTERY FROM #1 BEST-SELLING AUTHOR HELEN H. DURRANT THAT WILL HAVE YOU GRIPPED FROM START TO PULSATING FINISH.

A MURDERED WOMAN FOUND ON A BUILDING SITE. EXECUTED BY A SINGLE GUN SHOT. BUT WORSE IS TO COME. ANOTHER BODY IS FOUND BURIED IN THE SAME PLACE.

Detective Rachel King has two victims to deal with. The first woman was local nurse, Agnes Moore. One of the victim’s friends makes contact but then disappears.

Does Rachel have a serial killer on her hands? And what was Agnes really helping local girls with?

Will Rachel’s former lover, well-know villain Jed McAteer come back to haunt her with his connections to the victims.

Who will pay the ultimate price next?

A MYSTERY WITH A STUNNING TWIST AND A RACE AGAINST TIME TO SAVE HER CAREER AND STOP A MURDER SPREE.

Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Mark Billingham.

ALSO BY HELEN H. DURRANT
RACHEL KING
Book 1: Next Victim
Book 2: Two Victims

Purchase Here – http://mybook.to/TwoVictims

My Thoughts

I love a good crime novel – the darker the better and Joffe always seem to hit the nail on the head with their crime thrillers.

Despite being the second book in the series, it works as a stand alone although there are some references to events in the first book.  I am really looking forward to reading the first Rachel King novel.

DI Rachel King and her team find two bodies in close proximity with no connection or identification.  With potential links to people trafficking and drugs, can Rachel stop the killer before he strikes again?

For starters I love the female lead in this novel.  She is a strong, intelligent officer who lives a fairly normal life but is excellent at her job.  For me this is important and a brilliant touch as usually this type of woman is portrayed as having a severely troubled past.  IN this case, Rachel is just a hardworking woman with a family who struggles balancing family and work in the way that many of us do.

Told through the narrative of the police investigation with entwined chapters from other characters, this novel had me hooked from the beginning.  The subject matter can make uncomfortable and dark reading for some but sheds light on what I believe is a serious and growing issue in our society.  The pages turned themselves and with a few twists and surprises thrown into the mix I couldn’t put it down until I had reached a conclusion.

This is a brilliant crime thriller with a little bit of a dark theme – I highly recommend it and I am off to read the first novel in the series.

 

Author Bio – Helen Durrant

helen durrant.png

OVER 750,000 books sold of her Calladine & Bayliss and DI Greco Series

I’m one of the ‘baby boomer’ generation. I was born in Edinburgh to an English father and Scottish mother. My father was from the North West of England and this was where the family settled.

I know the area well, both the good and the bad, and so I set my books here. Sitting between two counties, Lancashire and Yorkshire, and between the city and the hills, it offers a rich mix of the industrial and the countryside and all the character therein. I always planned to write crime novels — to create the characters in my books. Since my retirement from a busy teaching job in FE, this is what I’ve done — almost to exclusion of anything else!

I have a grown-up family and five grandchildren. They see me as something of an eccentric — always on my laptop writing away. Writing is something of a second career and, despite having a bus pass, keeps me busy, young and tuned in the world as it currently is.

Twitter @hhdurrant

Facebook       https://www.facebook.com/helen.durrant.12

Facebook Page https://www.facebook.com/pages/Calladine-Bayliss-Detective-Novels/614047648616619?ref=hl

Website  https://www.helenhdurrant.co.uk/

Advertisements

One comment

  1. […] Told through the narrative of the police investigation with entwined chapters from other characters, this novel had me hooked from the beginning.  The subject matter can make uncomfortable and dark reading for some but sheds light on what I believe is a serious and growing issue in our society.  The pages turned themselves and with a few twists and surprises thrown into the mix I couldn’t put it down until I had reached a conclusion.Read more here […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s