Guest Post from Joy Ellis- Author of Darkness on the Fens – Blog Tour

BLOG TOUR Darkness on the Fens

Today, on behalf of Jill Burkinshaw from https://booksnall.blog/, Joy Ellis and Joffe Books, I’m hosting a guest post from Joy herself about her Detective Nikki Galena.

DARKNESS ON THE FENS publish.jpg

Synopsis

THE DETECTIVE
DI Nikki Galena: A police detective with nothing left to lose, she’s seen a girl die in her arms and her own family destroyed. She’s tough on criminals but fiercely loyal to her team.
HER PARTNER
DS Joseph Easter is the squeaky-clean member of the team. But his nickname “Holy Joe” belies his former life as a soldier. He has a daughter and an ex-wife who wants his attention.
THE SETTING
The Lincolnshire Fens: great open skies brood over marshes, farmland, and nature reserves. It is not easy terrain for the Fenland Constabulary to police, due to the distances between some of the remote fen villages, the dangerous and often misty lanes, and the poor telephone coverage. There are still villages where the oldest residents have never set foot outside their own farmland and a visit to the nearest town is a major event. But it has a strange airy beauty to it, and above it all are the biggest skies you’ve ever seen.

Darkness on the Fens (Nikki Galena #10) by Joy Ellis

Do you love addictive detective mysteries? Then try this book by a multiple #1 best-selling author now. You won’t be able to put it down. It’s a totally enthralling read.

A SERIAL KILLER ON A POISONOUS MISSION PUSHES NIKKI AND HER TEAM TO BREAKING POINT

Revellers are flocking into Greenborough for the yearly Dark Greenborough Festival, a three-day event celebrating local folklore, superstition and the darker side of life.

What the public doesn’t know is that there has been a warning sent to the police, saying that Greenborough will be a very dangerous place this year. The anonymous letter ends with the Latin phrase, Mors certa, hora incerta: Death is certain, the hour uncertain.

DI Nikki Galena and her team soon discover this is no hoax, as people start dying from what appears to be alcoholic poisoning. Things rapidly escalate, and as the deaths get more horrific, Nikki realises they have a serial killer in their midst.

A NIGHTMARE HUNT FOR A KILLER DURING THEIR BUSIEST TIME OF THE YEAR.

Full of twists and turns, this is a crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages until the heart-stopping ending.

This is book ten of the international best-selling books featuring Nikki Galena.

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY SERIES NOW

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

ALSO BY JOY ELLIS
THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES
Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS
Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS
Book 3: HUNTED ON THE FENS
Book 4: KILLER ON THE FENS
Book 5: STALKER ON THE FENS
Book 6: CAPTIVE ON THE FENS
Book 7: BURIED ON THE FENS
Book 8: THIEVES ON THE FENS
Book 9: FIRE ON THE FENS
Book 10: DARKNESS ON THE FENS

Guest Post from Joy Ellis

Nikki Galena

It’s a strange thing… you can work for ages building and creating a persona for a character, spending weeks adding small attributes and foibles as you go, OR, as in the case of DI Nikki Galena, they just arrive, fully formed and complete with name and all the baggage of a real person.

I had already written three thrillers, all with a different main character called Morgan Flint, and although they were finished and ready to go, (although at the time I had no idea where to send them!) something was missing. Being a stubborn mare where writing is concerned, I started book #4, and a small voice whispered in my ear, “When are you going to start to write my story?”.
I wrote the name Nikki Galena on a note pad and stared at it. “Right now, if you like?”
“About bloody time!” replied Nikki.
As one rarely argues with Nikki Galena, or you do so at your own peril, I wrote Crime on the Fens, originally titled Mask Wars. It was published in hardback by Robert Hale in 2010. I followed that with a book called Shadowbreaker, that became Shadow over the Fens, and as I firmly believe that nothing should be wasted, I completely rewrote the other three Morgan Flint novels to accommodate Nikki and her sergeant DS Joseph Easter. It worked.
Now I know Nikki as well, no, better, than most of my friends. I know everything about her; her sad past, her loves and her hates, her strengths and her weaknesses, how she reacts in stressful situations, what she eats and drinks, what she has in her pockets and all the things she’d do differently if she had her time over again. The one thing I do not know about Nikki Galena, is what she looks like. From the moment I first met her, she was all character, passions and emotions. I could see her outline and how she dressed, but she has always remained faceless. Her actual appearance never mattered, so I never described her. As I started to write about her I realised that I wanted this woman to be personal to every reader who was kind enough to read her books. I wanted her to be special to them, and so I allowed the reader to chose what Nikki looked like in their eyes A little strange, I admit, but that’s how it is. Just for fun I asked my Facebook followers to tell me who could play her if she was in a TV drama. I should think out of hundreds of replies there were perhaps just a couple who thought of the same actress. Clearly my plan worked! The only downside to that would be if anyone ever took the DI Nikki Galena books for a TV series, no-one would be happy with the leading lady!
Nikki has no intentions of giving up policing just yet. She swears there is plenty of mileage left in her tank, and I’m not arguing. However, just in case one day she says, “Sod it, Joy! I’m marrying Joseph, to hell with crime on the fens!’ I brought the character of Morgan Flint into book #10, Darkness on the Fens, and she is quietly working away at Divisional Headquarters, biding her time for her moment in the spotlight. It might never come, but she is a patient woman, with one hell of a backstory and unconventional personal life, so who knows!
Meanwhile Nikki continues to tell me what to do and what to write, and I reckon we
make quite a good team. People ask me if I based her on Jacquie, my partner, but although some of her responses are very Jacquie, she is her own woman.
Or is she?
The other day I found myself in a pretty horrible situation that I would normally have dealt with tact, diplomacy, and frankly been what I’ve always been, the eternal peacemaker. Instead, I suddenly morphed into DI Nikki Galena at her most vitriolic, and gave the person who had instigated a very nasty (homophobic, abusive, threatening, and totally unjust!) argument, a mouthful that he won’t forget in a hurry! If ever! If I’d had handcuffs on me, I swear he would have been face down on the deck and listening to a caution.
Now, I’m not sure if there’s a little bit of me in Nikki, or is it the other way around? The jury is out on that one.
Whatever, Nikki and I thank each and every one of you for reading her books and for all your wonderful reviews, blogs and messages, we are both in awe of you all! We love you guys!

Joy and Nikki x

Author Bio – Joy Ellis

Joy Ellis new author photo.jpg

UK #1 Best Seller with THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS and THE FOURTH FRIEND

Over 1 million books sold!

“I was born in Kent but spent most of my working life in London and Surrey. I was an apprentice florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the sixties and seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. What an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! I swore then, probably whilst I was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that I would have a shop of my own one day. It took until the early eighties, but I did it. Sadly the recession wiped us out, and I embarked on a series of weird and wonderful jobs; the last one being a bookshop manager. Surrounded by books all day, getting to order whatever you liked, and being paid for it! Oh bliss!

And now I live in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens with my partner, Jacqueline, and our four Springer spaniels. I had been writing mysteries for years but never had the time to take it seriously. Now I write full time, and as my partner is a highly decorated retired police officer; I find I have an in-house consultant on hand to make sure that the police and judicial procedure is correct. She also makes very good tea! I have set my crime thrillers here in the misty fens because I sincerely love the remoteness and airy beauty of the marshlands. This area is steeped in superstitions and lends itself so well to murder!

 

4 comments

  1. I am a fan of bJoy Ellis mysteries, especially the Nikki Galena series and very much enjoyed this book with it twists in the tale.
    I have one minor quibble though probably because of my Chemistry background working with a Phosphorous extractor and phosphate producer. The reference to the attack by Phosphorus misled me at first . Surely they should be to. A Phosphoric Acid attack. Phosphorus itself is solid element which spontaneously combusts in contact with the air . I don’t think it could be poured down anyone’s throat or used in the wat described. The acid derived from it Phosphoric Acid however would have the properties and effects described.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think sometimes authors have to play with reality. To be honest my husband picks up of science inaccuracies too. I don’t really think about them too much.
      I haven’t read this novel. I couldn’t fit in a review so hosted a guest post. I loved 5 bloody hearts. I like her writing style

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s