The Friend Who Lied by Rachel Amphlett – Blog Tour

Add a heading.png

Thanks to Sarah Hardy from @BOTBSPublicity (Twitter) for organising this tour and to Rachel Amphlett for a copy of this novel in return for an unbiased and honest review.

The Friend Who Lied Cover EBOOK.jpg

Synopsis

What she doesn’t know might kill her…

Lisa Ashton receives a last-minute reprieve from death two weeks before her birthday. Regaining consciousness, she is horrified to learn one of her friends has been killed – and saved her life.

As she recovers, she uncovers a trail of carefully guarded reputations, disturbing rumours, and lies. Soon, Lisa begins to wonder if one of her friends is hiding a terrible secret.

Because five of them entered the escape room that day, and only four got out alive.

And someone is determined to cover their tracks before she can find out the truth.

Can Lisa find the killer before someone else dies?

The Friend Who Lied: a twisted psychological thriller from USA Today bestseller Rachel Amphlett – perfect for fans of The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley and Friend Request by Laura Marshall.

My Thoughts

Why oh why have I not read this author before? Where have I been?

From page one the story had me hooked.  Lisa needs a kidney transplant and the only known match has refused to go through with it.  Wanting to spend time with her four close friends for the last time, they arrange to visit an escape room but only four survive. Waking in a hospital room with distorted and limited memories of what had happened, Lisa finds herself confused and unsure of what really happened in there and who to trust.

Cleverly written in very short chapters and from multiple perspectives, Rachel Amphlett perfects the art of keeping the reader in the same state as the main protagonist by creating a suspenseful and thrilling ride where nothing is fully clear and the people surrounding you are untrustworthy.

Lisa is the main narrator but little snippets from the other characters involved add additional information and although the book moves at a rapid pace, only small hints at something more sinister are given leaving the reader wanting more.  I couldn’t put this down as I was so desperate to make sense of what had happened.

In addition to figuring out the events previously, the more the book delves into the lives of the friends the more we see that there is hidden sadness and despair among them, arousing even more suspicion.

This is by far one of the most suspenseful and engaging thrillers I have read for a long time and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

 

 

Author Bio – Rachel Amphlett

Rachel Amphlett author photo.jpg

Before turning to writing, USA Today bestselling author Rachel Amphlett played guitar in bands, worked as a TV and film extra, dabbled in radio as a presenter and freelance producer for the BBC, and worked in publishing as a sub-editor and editorial assistant.She now wields a pen instead of a plectrum and writes crime fiction and spy novels, including the Dan Taylor and English Spy Mysteries espionage novels and the Detective Kay Hunter British police procedural series.She’s a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold sold to Fanucci Editore’s TIMECrime imprint, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag.

Praise for Rachel Amphlett“Thrilling start to a new series. Scared to Death is a stylish, smart and gripping crime thriller” ~ Robert Bryndza, USA Today bestselling author ofThe Girl in the Ice“Scared to Death… moves along at breakneck speed with twists and turns” ~ Angela Marsons, bestselling author of the Detective Kim Stone crime thriller series.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s