Where the Dead Fall by MJ Lee – Blog Tour

Where the Dead Fall Blog Tour banner (3) (2).png

Thank you to Tracy Fenton from Compulsive readers  for organising this tour and to M.J. Lee and, Canelo Publishing and #netgally for an ARC copy of this book in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

44166882.jpg

Synopsis

One chance encounter, one street side murder, will change everything… The extraordinary new Ridpath crime thriller
Manchester has been at peace for twenty years. Not any more.

DI Ridpath is in the process of getting his life back together when everything goes wrong.

Driving to meet his daughter, he his caught in a horrific motorway accident, in which a near-naked man is rundown by a lorry, while fleeing from a lone gunman. As Ridpath closes Manchester’s road network in search of the assailant, one question remains: why did nobody else see him?

Ridpath’s investigations, which at first seem to follow protocol, soon unearth a number of inconsistencies, which pulls the police force itself into question, and hint at something sinister to come…

For Manchester is on the brink of a fresh surge of violence unlike anything it has seen in decades. As Ridpath battles this unprecedented conflict, he must battle his own demons. One thing is for sure. There will be blood on the streets…

The nail-biting sequel to Where the Truth Lies, M J Lee’s Where the Dead Fall is an absolute must read, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Faith Martin and Peter James.

My Thoughts

This is the second outing for DI Ridpath but works really well as a stand alone.  I haven’t read ‘Where the Truth Lies‘ yet but I will be doing after reading this one.  The events of the first book are referred to however it does not spoil the flow or enjoyment.

DI Ridpath is driving along the M60 when a naked man runs out into traffic and is killed by a truck.  Ridpath knows he saw a figure with a gun at the roadside and is convinced the man was running from someone but getting the rest of the force to believe him is a different matter.  As Ridpath desperately searches for evidence to prove his theory, more bodies begin to show up.  Can he find a link and stop the murders and save his career?

This novel is an extremely fast paced crime story that will keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end.  Full of surprises, and an interesting insight into the gangs of Manchester, I couldn’t put this book down.  The chapters are short, making a book that can be read in short installments (not that you want to) and adds a pace to the story.  There is never a chapter where you become bored or distracted.

Mainly told from Ridpath’s perspective, the occasional chapter told from Whitworth’s (Ridpath’s boss) or the killer’s point of view adds a extra tension to the story as you get a little insight into the motives behind the murder but not enough to reveal anything too early.   The book works like a jigsaw puzzle, small parts of revealed to the reader throughout but it only comes together and makes sense when the final pieces are put into place close to the end.

Ridpath himself is a relatable and likeable character.  Not perfect, (who is?) but with relatable and human flaws such as being too focussed on work, not taking care of himself this makes him a character that you root for from the beginning.

A fast paced police procedural that takes on the investigative journey.  Highly recommended for crime fans.

 

 

Author Bio – M.J. Lee

6713964.jpg

Martin has spent most of his adult life writing in one form or another. As a University researcher in history, he wrote pages of notes on reams of obscure topics. As a social worker with Vietnamese refugees, he wrote memoranda. And, as the creative director of an advertising agency, he has written print and press ads, tv commercials, short films and innumerable backs of cornflake packets and hotel websites.
He has spent 25 years of his life working outside the North of England. In London, Hong Kong, Taipei, Singapore, Bangkok and Shanghai, winning awards from Cannes, One Show, D&AD, New York and London Festivals, and the United Nations.
Whilst working in Shanghai, he loved walking through the old quarter of that amazing city, developing the idea behind a series of crime novels featuring Inspector Pyotr Danilov, set in 1920s and 30s.
When he’s not writing, he splits his time between the UK and Asia, taking pleasure in playing with his daughter, practicing downhill ironing, single-handedly solving the problem of the French wine lake and wishing he were George Clooney

Advertisements

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s