Knowing You by Samantha Tonge – Blog Tour

Publication Blog Blitz Knowing You (1)

A huge thanks to Rachel Gilbey for organising this tour and to Samantha Tonge and Canelo Publishing for gifting and ARC copy of this book in return for an honest and unbaised review.

This is my Review of the Month for the review collection on LovelyAudiobooks.info

This post may contain Amazon Affiliate Links which means that if you purchase an item from a link on my site, I get a small commission at no cost to you.

Purchase Link: https://amzn.to/2OjNkUL

 

9781788632218_others

Synopsis

An abrupt change; a new friendship; a dark secret…

Kind-hearted Violet has never fitted in, but despite being bullied at school is now content. She is dating ambitious Lenny, has her dream job in publishing and runs a book club at the local retirement home.

However, when her relationship with Lenny begins to falter, Violet, hurt and alone, seeks the advice of her new flatmate, Bella. She changes her image and with her head held high aims to show that she doesn’t need Lenny in her life to be happy and successful.

Her long-term friends Mable and Farah worry about Bella’s influence and slowly Violet starts to distance herself from them. When she was a child, her closest confidant and companion was a boy called Flint. Her mother didn’t approve of their closeness and he suffered a terrible end. She won’t let the same thing happen to Bella, no matter what anyone says…

Knowing You is about friendship and knowing who to trust with your deepest secrets; it’s about taking control of your life and not being afraid to stand out. Perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan, Gail Honeyman and Amanda Prowse

My Thoughts

It’s totally true that the more we love a book, the harder it is for us bloggers to write the review. This is how I feel trying to write this one today.

I’m completely heartbroken after reading this devastating yet beautiful book about loss, love, friendship and dealing with the things about ourselves we don’t like.

Meet Violet.

Child Violet – A bookworm who never really fits into her new school and then suffers a very devastating loss that leaves both her and her mother in a lonely place. She meets Flint, a friend who she has adventures and can talk to about anything.

Pre-Lenny Violet – Now a kindhearted adult working in the publishing industry and living a quiet but happy life with her partner Lenny and her cat. She runs a book club with some elderly friends, takes care of her neighbour and is genuine friends with her colleagues.

Post-Lenny Violet – Has a new housemate named Bella who has encouraged Violet to shed her old image and re-create herself. Violet’s friends grow increasingly concerned as she shuts herself off from her previous life.

Violet’s story made compelling reading and I just couldn’t put it down. Throughout the first half of the novel I was thoroughly enjoying reading about Violet and her transformation after her break up. It was only after a while that I realised there was something darker and sinister lurking in the shadows.

Samantha Tonge has written this with such sensitivity and poignancy that you cannot help but become part of Violet’s story. It’s obvious how much emotion and heart has been given to the beautiful Violet and I imagine writing this novel was a rewarding and exhausting experience.

All I can say is read this book!

Amazon – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07MX87BH1/?_encoding=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&linkCode=ur2&tag=canelo-21
Apple – https://geo.itunes.apple.com/gb/book/knowing-you/id1449854707?mt=11&uo=8&at=1000l5Q7
Google – https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=aRiEDwAAQBAJ
Kobo – https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/knowing-you-6

Author Bio

Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK and her passion, second to spending time with her husband and children, is writing. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely.

When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women’s magazines.

In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category.

Links

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SamTongeWriter

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor

Website: http://samanthatonge.co.uk/

10 comments

  1. Ooh, this sounds really good! It could go one of two ways: creepy and dark or self-affirming and positive. Interested to see which one of those it turns out to be 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s