Murder For Money -*****Blog Tour*****

MURDER FOR MONEY

A massive thanks to Rachel from https://www.rachelreadit.co.uk/  for pointing me in the direction of this book tour after our discussion about The Woods Murder – see my review here.  And to Jill from https://booksnall.blog/ for agreeing to include me on this tour.  Also, a big thanks to Roy Lewis and Joffe books for a copy of this book in return for an honest and unbiased review.

Synopsis

Detective John Crow is called to the Yorkshire countryside to investigate the brutal murder of Charlie Rutland, a womanising journalist visiting the area.  Crow has his work cut out for him as there is a long, growing list of suspects and a ‘pile’ of puzzle pieces that he can’t seem to fit together.

Just as Crow is getting somewhere there’s the sudden involvement of the British Spy services who seem desperate to shut down the investigation by any means necessary.

Can Crow and his team put the pieces together and catch the killer or will the investigation be shut down?

 

Review

I completely adore the writing style of Roy Lewis.  His plots are intricate and brilliantly put together and yet told simply and straight forward, no complicated sub-stories or lengthy character descriptions – just pure and brilliant crime story telling.  We get snippets of Detective Crow’s personal life but just enough to make him likable, the rest is gained by inference from his moral actions and his non-judgemental manner in dealing with people.

What Lewis does spend time detailing is the settings,  he perfectly captures the beauty of Yorkshire countryside and the grimness of the town/cities.

As I said in my review of The Woods Murder – Reading a Detective Crow novel takes me back to watching old detective shows on a Sunday afternoon with my Grandparents.  It’s like participating in a who dun it? where the list of suspects and motives is long, leading you down an uncertain and twisty path of guessing who the murderer was only to reveal it was the least likely suspect at the very last-minute.  Reading this book is like playing a game, it’s even better if you have a reading buddy to discuss your ideas with a certain points.
Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ruth Rendell, P.D. James and Peter Robinson.

 

About Roy Lewis

Roy Lewis is a well-established crime writer with 60 novels to his name. He lives in the north of England where he sets many of his books. He is a former college principal and Inspector of Schools who now runs business training programmes and has business interests in Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia. He has three children – all of them lawyers.

Author photo

Inspector Crow Series

Book 1: A LOVER TOO MANY
Book 2: ERROR OF JUDGMENT
Book 3: THE WOODS MURDER
Book 4: MURDER FOR MONEY
MORE COMING SOON!

 

PRAISE FOR ROY LEWIS MYSTERIES

Each Lewis seems to better the last. Here is an intriguing puzzle and likely police work and a fine picture of Northumbrian society and countryside” The Times

“Roy Lewis has demonstrated an enviable range both in geography and style…a nice neat story” The Financial Times

“Lots of cunning complications embracing conservation and financial fiddles” The Guardian

“A thorough, unpretentious and immensely solid piece of work with an interesting and likeable hero” Times Literary Supplement

“Chilly drama with some stirring cliff hanger” Sunday Telegraph

 

Check out the other reviews on this blog-tour

Murder for Money blog tour banner

Advertisements

12 thoughts on “Murder For Money -*****Blog Tour*****

      1. Cool! I never know with series if it is best to start at the beginning so it’s good to know I don’t have to. I will have a look at book 3. Intense is good! I know a lady who I think would really enjoy the series. I will mention it to her when I next see her 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This is a brilliant review! Absolutely love it, I agree it reminds me of watching an ITV3 murder mystery and I like that I but Inspector Crow is there but not everything revolves around him? And this time I didn’t have to go back and re-read bits, it was more straightforward but still well worth puzzling out the wheres and whyfors-great read!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s