The Diary by Vikki Patis – Book Review

A huge thank you to NetGalley, Vikki Patis and Bookouture for an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

the diary

Synopsis

(Taken from NetGalley)

‘I know all your secrets, Lauren.’

Lauren has spent years running away from her home town, her childhood and the memories of her best friend, Hannah.

Until the tenth anniversary of Hannah’s death forces her to return home and to the group of friends she abandoned there. It should be a quick visit, just so Lauren can pay her respects.

At home, Lauren finds Hannah’s old diary. A diary full of secrets. The terrible things Lauren did, the lies she’s told, the reason she ran away. And she receives a message:

‘I don’t know why you’re back, but I know why you left.’

But no-one else has seen the diary, and Hannah’s dead, isn’t she?

A suspenseful psychological thriller full of twists and turns – you won’t be able to stop turning the pages of The Diary. Perfect for fans of The Sister, The Girl on the Train and We Were Liars.

 

Review

The Diary is unlike other psychological thrillers in several ways.

First, this book has a strong female ensemble leading the way – all the way.

Secondly, it has a much slower pace than your usual thriller but in a gloriously good way.  Most psych thrillers move at a quicker pace, keeping you on the edge of your seat and turning pages at a rapid rate but The Diary really slows it down, allowing you to enjoy and digest each key event.

The timeline is split between then, and now and paints an intricate picture of the relationship between Lauren, Hannah and their friendships past and present.

The Past timeline captures the essence of  teenage angst and it’s told honestly and so realistically that it is close to merging with my own teen memories.  It takes a group of diverse girls and makes them real – with their strengths weaknesses and faults.  It explores friendships between teen girls as well as issues such as bullying, depression and rape.

The present timeline focuses more on the central character of Lauren with the other characters making an appearance as the plot unravels.  From the beginning, it is hinted that there are hidden secrets and these are dangled temptingly in front of the reader and then whipped away and saved for another time.  Clues and reveals are given sparingly and although the twist was predictable, it was still thrilling when it eventually came.

Overall this is a psychological thriller with a different feel to a more traditional one.  It’s an excellent debut novel and I highly recommend it.

 

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “The Diary by Vikki Patis – Book Review

    1. It is but they also show and have vulnerabilities – as does everyone so it’s nice to see strong women being portrayed as also vulnerable, unpleasant at times and unites in others. The more I reflect the more I thunk this book is less a psych thriller and more a personal journey for the main protagonist.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s